The African Union Southern Africa Regional Office (AU-SARO) was established in 2001 by the AU Member States. It is a representational office established to develop and maintain constructive and productive relationships between the AU and Member States in the Southern African Region, as well as SADC and COMESA.

One of the main functions of AU-SARO Office is monitoring of political, economic, social and cultural developments in the 16 Member States (MS) in Southern Africa. The AU-SARO also monitors integration and development in SADC and COMESA which are two vital regional bodies towards continental integration.